Reconfiguration

Minju asked us to bring a precious object to the class. Yesterday, I my room to discover something valuable to me. I found an Olympic necklace that my grandma gave to me, awards that I received, bracelets that me and my friends bought together,.. but I tried to find something simple that has taken on more meaning for me through my history.

Letters. Soon I realized that letters are the most meaningful objects that I can’t replace with anything.

IMG_20150518_233753

I cherish all the letters that I received. However, for the sake of convenience, I decided to bring only one of my favorite letters, which was written by one of my best friends in my life. Before I transferred to BHA, she gave me a letter. Whenever I read the letter, I feel I am an important person in someone’s life. I feel so blessed and grateful that I burst into tears as I begin to peruse the letter.

We shared one another’s story and were asked to create an image that describes the emotions we felt in terms of the object.

Me-Swapping Letters
Me-Swapping Letters

Screen Shot 2015-05-20 at 11.18.54 PM Screen Shot 2015-05-20 at 11.19.03 PM

Luna - Rotation
Luna – A Human Ring

What was different?

If I watched the performance without being informed of their stories, I would watch it without being emotionally engaged. However, prior knowledge made me feel different. As an audience, I was emotionally connected to the performers’ history. Since, we the audience knew the objects and the story behind the object, the line between the spectators and the performers was blurred. Today’s exercise can be regarded as breaking the Fourth Wall. I also felt different when I was performing. I was not pretending. I acted from inside to outside. It was challenging to prevent the emotions from being too sappy.


Next..

Ms Mor’s show with her object

Leave a Reply

