10 words that came to my mind after class

Screen Shot 2015-01-24 at 오후 11.43.19

  • Watching videos about Suzuki training
  • Memorizing lines for the opening scene of Macbeth

.

.

.

1. Watching videos about Suzuki training method

We watched a video about Suzuki training. Compared to original Suzuki training, people in this video are walking and stamping front and then back. There are a lot of good&bad examples in this video, that I may refer to or avoid.

Screen Shot 2015-02-01 at 오후 11.15.52Screen Shot 2015-02-01 at 오후 11.15.59

.

.

In this video, the man and woman at 1:27 is unstable and they didn’t get to maintain balance whilst stomping. Shaking upper body including shoulder is a bad example of stomping. However, the man in the second picture demonstrates a balanced and steady stomping. He holds his upper body still. I also realized that the steadiness gives warrior-like  looking and combative ambience to the audience, which is very strong and beneficial to the actor. Now I am close to the man and woman in the first picture. At the end of this unit, I want my skills to be developed as much as him in the 2nd picture.

.

.

Screen Shot 2015-02-01 at 오후 11.20.16

While they were doing heads-up training, they put themselves in a challenging situation by bending their knees more than the training requires. Also their turning speed was very fast, which gave a tidy and interesting look. When they were allowed to speak, I could hear every single voices because they used different voices, tones and accents.

.

.

.

.

2. Learning Macbeth Act 1 Scene 1

One thing that really astonished me was that the rhythm of every lines are in sync with human’s heartbeat sounds.

After understanding meanings behind lines, we memorized this chant and applied to our heads-up and sit-up training.

.

.

ACT I  SCENE I  A desert place.
[Thunder and lightning. Enter three Witches]
First Witch When shall we three meet again
In thunder, lightning, or in rain?
Second Witch When the hurlyburly’s done,
When the battle’s lost and won.
Third Witch That will be ere the set of sun.
First Witch Where the place?
Second Witch Upon the heath.
Third Witch There to meet with Macbeth.
First Witch I come, graymalkin!
Second Witch Paddock calls.
Third Witch Anon!
ALL Fair is foul, and foul is fair:
Hover through the fog and filthy air.
[Exeunt]

A video version of witches opening released in 1971

.

.

.

.

.

.

Screen Shot 2015-01-24 at 오후 11.43.23

Screen Shot 2015-01-29 at 오후 7.02.24

  1. Arduous : The Suzuki training was absolutely arduous training course for me.
  2. Expansive: I tend to forgot to breath during the training. When we breath in and out, we need to take an expansive breath, which means taking a deep breath.
  3. Homolateral: If I think too much, I am in homolateral – a status when you can not concentrate well because a brain is processing too many tasks. I should avoid being in homo-lateral while I am doing training.
  4. Steadiness: Steadiness is one of the important skills in term of Suzuki training.
  5. Habits: Bad habits deters me from having in a precise posture.
  6. Endurance: I need to develop my muscular endurance, especially my core strength, in order to narrate the chunk louder than I spoke today.
  7. HurlyBurly: Hurlyburly means noisy boisterous activity.
  8. Challenging: Still, this training course is challenging for me.
  9. Stronger: My task is to be stronger when I am staying in sitting or standing statue, stomping, and speaking out the script.
  10. Energetic: Keep my body energetic. Taking a physical rest by leaning to the wall, sitting down, or sprawling is rather a waste of energy.

Bibliography

  1. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=bcpTFXLrnZg
  2. http://www.shakespeare-online.com/plays/macbeth_1_1.html
Leave a Reply

